(ENG) New Authorization Management System for NimonikApp.com

By ,

对不起,此内容只适用于美式英文。 For the sake of viewer convenience, the content is shown below in the alternative language. You may click the link to switch the active language.

Nimonik is thrilled to announce a new, simpler and more powerful way to manage users on NimonikApp.com. In summary, you now have two levels of users, administrators and General Users.

An Administrator can see, edit and delete everything on the account and can manage users, change subscription plan or even delete the account entirely.

In contrast, a General User can see and edit facilities, audits and registers for which they have authorization. A General User cannot delete facilities, audits and registers unless they created the item themselves. Lastly, a General User cannot manage any other users in the account, only administrators can do that.

Some companies have requested read-only abilities, but since we log all account activity, it is very easy to see who has edited information in your account and undo any changes or contact the appropriate person.

These new features will be added to the next release of EHS Audit Mobile for iPad and iPhone, in September 2014.

Detailed Explanation or User Roles

User roles

———-

1. Administrators:

  • can see, edit and delete everything on the account; and
  • can manage users, change subscription plan or even delete the account entirely.

2. General users:

  • can see and edit facilities, audits, registers and other obligations ONLY if given authorization;
  • can see and edit activities in register if they can see and edit the register;
  • can see and edit audit items, corrective actions, file attachments if they can see and edit the audit;
  • can create a new facility;
  • can create a new audit, register or other obligation if they can see the parent facility;
  • can create any other record under audits and registers if the can see the relevant audit or register;
  • can change their user preferences;
  • cannot delete records UNLESS they created them in the first place; and
  • cannot manage other users nor the account.

Benefits of using a general user instead of company administrator include:

  • records cannot be deleted by accident;
  • only the relevant items are shown in the web UI (keeps users from seeing the data they should not or want not);
  • only the relevant items are synced to the iOS devices (quicker sync, less clutter in the app UI); and
  • company preferences (including the paid features) cannot be changed.

What you cannot do:

  • assign read-only right to a record; this keeps things simple: whatever you see, you can also change;
  • assign the delete right; only account administrators and record creators can do that;
  • restrict the create right; general users are always allowed to create a record if they only see the parent; and
  • restrict or assign rights to account administrators; they can do everything within the account.

Authorization assignment:

1. On the user management page:

  • you can only assign authorizations to general users; and
  • you choose a user, then a facility, audit, register or activity file (upcoming feature), and add the authorization.

2. In the facility/audit/register/other-obligation form (upcoming feature):

  • You can choose general users that can see and update the record.

3. On the iOS device (upcoming feature):

  • You can choose general users that can see and update the record.